Danger Mouse’s new album Dark Night Of The Soul

May 19, 2009

danger-mouse-dark-night-of-the-soulDanger Mouse along with Sparklehorse is releasing a new album, and it possibly could contain a blank CD.  Due to a dispute with EMI, the album will come as a blank, recordable CD-R and will be clearly labeled, “For legal reasons, enclosed CD-R contains no music. Use it as you will.”  But fret not, that’s not all you will get.  Famed director David Lynch has compiled a book of his photographs that will be packaged with the album.  Dark Night features a collaboration of artists including James Mercer of The Shins, The Flaming Lips, Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals, Jason Lytle of Grandaddy, Julian Casablancas of The Strokes, Frank Black of the Pixies, Iggy Pop, Nina Persson of The Cardigans, Suzanne Vega, Vic Chesnutt, David Lynch, and Scott Spillane of Neutral Milk Hotel and The Gerbils.

The album is currently available over at NPR for streaming.  Here’s to hoping the album actually gets released so we can put the blank CD-R to use.